Welcome to

Belmont School

Home Page






Belmont School - Curriculum Statement 

At Belmont School, we believe that all children have a desire to learn (article 28). We understand that if the learning that takes place is challenging, interesting and creative, then our children will develop into life-long learners. Alongside this, we are responsible for teaching the statutory curriculum, but we strive to deliver a much broader and more balanced curriculum than what is compulsory. The National Curriculum (2014) provides schools with the outline of knowledge, skills and understanding that we are required to cover in school. We choose to teach much of this through creative, cross-curricular themes, through the International Primary Curriculum (IPC), which covers our teaching in: Science, Art and Design, Design Technology, Geography and History.
We believe that teaching through the IPC helps us to fully promote the spiritual, moral, social and cultural (SMSC) development of our pupils as well as achieve the aims of promoting the fundamental British values of: democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty, and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs. It is also underpinned by our commitment to the UNCRC charter setting out children’s rights and responsibilities, which ultimately enables children to become respectful global citizens.
Although the IPC is our driving force for teaching, we also need to take account of changes in the statutory expectations, in particular, English and Maths where the content of learning has become significantly more demanding. This means that whilst we endeavour to integrate Maths and English skills into all IPC activities, we also teach many elements of the programmes of study for English and Maths discreetly. Other subjects which are not fully covered by the IPC include: Computing, Citizenship, Languages, Music, PE and RE. In this instance, other programmes of study or schemes are used to fully achieve the aims and objectives of the National Curriculum.
In the Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception classes) we follow the seven EYFS areas of learning: Personal, social & emotional development; Physical development; Communication and language; Literacy; Mathematics; Understanding the world and Expressive arts and design. Within our Early Years Provision and Key Stage 1, daily phonics sessions are taught in classes, in accordance with the Letters and Sounds document. This provides a synthetic and systematic approach to the teaching of phonics and supports both the development of children's reading and writing skills
At Belmont we are proud of our quality first teaching and endeavour to enable our whole school community to participate in the review and evaluation process of our rich and rigorous curriculum.  For further information, please reference our overview of curriculum subjects and termly newsletters.

How we assess pupils’ attainment and progress against the Belmont Curriculum

At Belmont School, as the curriculum has evolved, we have developed our new assessment system which was implemented fully from September 2015. We worked closely with other local schools to trial this and we are using software from an existing provider to the school, which is used by more than 3000 other schools nationally. Our system reports pupils’ attainment and progress against new Bands rather than levels. These Bands are all benchmarked against where pupils are expected to be for their age. Underpinning the Belmont curriculum are the key skills, knowledge and understanding that children are expected to master in each subject and these are reflected in the assessment criteria in place.


Calendar Events

Read more